KPculture

Korean Entertainment News

Kim Jeong Hoon Bids Adieu

with 4 comments

Kim Jung Hoon

Kim Jung Hoon

Kim Jung Hoon

Kim Jung Hoon

Singer-actor Kim Jeong Hoon (aka John Hoon, Jin Zhen Xun) enlisted into the army on April 28.

Kim is considered one of the smartest celebrities since he studied Dentistry at Seoul National University before deciding to embark on a career in entertainment. He debuted as part of duo United N-generation (UN) in 2000 at the age of 20. The group disbanded in 2006 after releasing five albums. Kim is undoubtedly best known for his role as Lee Yul, the second male lead, in hit drama Goong. (KP’s note: He also played the second male lead in Witch Amusement, aka Witch Yoo Hee, but……. that’s better left forgotten.) He has been pursuing a solo singing career in Japan and also starred in a Chinese drama called Love Strategy at the end of 2008.

Approximately 500 fans from Korea, Japan, and China gathered for the chance to say goodbye during the 15 minutes Kim took to greet the press and the crowd.

Kim Jung Hoon

Kim Jung Hoon's fans

Reporter: What are your thoughts on enlistment?
KJH: The enlistment was sudden. I wasn’t in Korea for two to three years, but I had good experiences [while] working abroad. I’m going to return healthily and definitely show you a better appearance in two years. Thank you for cheering me on. I’ll see you in two years.

Reporter: Is there a reason you’re not going as an entertainer/celebrity soldier?
KJH: [That] hasn’t been decided yet. I’ll decide that after entering.

Reporter: There is word that an album you pre-recorded before enlisting will be released in Korea?
KJH: Because I did so few activities in Korea, it is an album made with an apologetic heart towards [my] Korean fans.

Reporter: Is there a celebrity who you met up with recently or promised to visit?
KJH: I met Hong Kyung Min at the studio. [He] told me lots of good stories. There aren’t any celebrities who promised to come visit. I’ll have to make some more calls.

Reporter: How is your mental state right now?
KJH: I’m unconcerned. It’s a place that all males of the Republic of Korea must go to. I’ll find (make) something that I can enjoy doing for two years.

Reporter: Who is the last person you met up with?
KJH: I just came from eating lunch with my mother. I regret not being able to spend more time with my mother and father before coming.

Reporter: What do you most want to do when you enter?
KJH: Shoot a gun and throw a hand grenade.

Reporter: Do you worry because of your age?
KJH: [I heard] they go easy on the old ones. Therefore some burden was taken off. However, I will work hard in order not to hear that I’m aged. I’m thankful that a lot [of people] came even though it was a sudden enlistment. I will return after a good life in the military.

Source: Mydaily via Daum

Written by KP

April 28, 2009 at 3:00 am

Posted in Celebrities

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ohhh! i gonna miss him sooo muchhh!!:(
    saranghae kim jeong hoon!!^^ ❤
    Fighting!!!:):)

    moon

    April 28, 2009 at 4:34 am

  2. i will miss u kim jeong hoon..
    see u 2 years later..hwaiting!!

    natali

    April 28, 2009 at 7:31 am

  3. KP i have a question for you when you said “KP’s note: He also played the second male lead in Witch Amusement, aka Witch Yoo Hee, but……. that’s better left forgotten.”
    what did you mean by that its better left forgotten?

    suchita

    April 28, 2009 at 7:16 pm

  4. suchita,
    Hahahaha – I meant that Witch Amusement wasn’t a drama worth remembering. Don’t get me wrong – I liked Kim Jeong Hoon in Goong and I like all of the actors in Witch Amusement… but in my opinion, the drama wasn’t of good quality and neither was Kim’s acting in it.

    KP

    April 28, 2009 at 9:56 pm


Leave a Reply

